The garden at Sol y Luna

If you haven’t heard from me it’s because I’ve been stuck on the painting of my pieces of carport.  This job is a drag and because I don’t enjoy it, it is taking me even longer!  I am halfway through doing the top coat, and will be able to finally get back to the things I look forward to doing, like working on the stone wall at the front of the house, and getting it done before the bushfire season starts.

In the meantime my friend Sharon was showing me some old abandoned projects hidden in the scrub up the hill from her  house and I was suddenly reminded of a wonderful garden outside of Coroico, Bolivia at the Sol y Luna. It rains profusely there and all a gardener needs to do is stick something in the ground and off it goes.  In this garden you can follow a path through the bush/forest and come upon a secret swimming pool or hidden cabin surrounded by flowers.  It’s probably changed quite a lot as it’s been 10 years since I was there.  I knew it as the Hostal Sol y Luna but I believe it’s now an ‘ecolodge’ with ecolodge prices!

The view from our room at the Sol y Luna

Edi and sons in the not so secret pool at the Sol Y Luna

But if money were no object, that’s where I’d go.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Craig on December 1, 2014 at 9:55 AM

    I’ve just come back from Bolivia and indeed spent many a beautiful day at Hostal Sol y Luna…..you’ll be pleased to know it is as you remember it even though it is an ecolodge now , but unspoilt in every way .Coroico is truly paradise and I dream of spending many more days there .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

