Dryer than a … [you fill in the rest]

It has been a while since I last wrote, we had some nice rain early autumn to kick off the planting season. But now it’s so dry there is no motivation for gardening.  There’s no point!  Struggling to keep alive the few things I planted in March.

However it’s not all bad, as it is a good time to clear weeds and spread shale from our local baryte plant.

In the meantime I will show you one of my earlier successes, the blue bush patch near the house.  Turned out that blue bush and the Sturt desert’s rose just loved the gravel of the house pad.  Beth Chatto would be proud.

Also had a few autumn crocuses in early March too.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I moved to central Victoria two years ago and it’s quite a shock to have poor soil with hardly any rain this year (last year was good for rain though) after living in Gippsland all my life with rich black soil. Working lots of manure in and keeping my fingers crossed for rain 🙂 You are doing a great job there – my daughter lives near Gawler SA and it’s very dry there, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

