While the iron’s hot.

It is funny that while some garden projects take months and years to complete, often due to a long gestational period – “I’m going to put a stone wall there when I get to it” etc, others have a gestational period of minutes of hours.

I love the second variety, where as soon as the idea comes you’ve started it, because you can see the finished product in your mind and it has to be done NOW.

This happened to me a couple of days ago. On Sunday I organised a few pelargoniums¬† to plant on Monday, the anniversary of my husband’s death, but not one has gone in yet. While I was thinking about how lovely the little bed would be, it went from not quite right to completely wrong.

How the herb bed was from Aug 2009 until Dec 2011.

How the herb bed was from Aug 2009 until Dec 2011.

I was looking at the herb bed on the far side of the carport, which I laid out two years before the carport went up because I simply couldn’t wait to get the herbs in. It ended up a little further away than it needed to be, but I was so glad to have a carport that I did not worry about the bed. I put stones along the top edge and left it like that.

The herb bed after the carport was erected.

The herb bed after the carport was erected.

Until yesterday. Suddenly I saw how stupid it looked from front on, and started moving the stones towards the carport posts. Then I saw it would too wide, so out came more stones, and then it was time to get shoveling and take the excess dirt away in the wheelbarrow. And while I didn’t have time to finish, I can’t wait to continue.

How it looks at themoment.

How it looks at the moment.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

